COVID-19 Update

DCH is still open and operating, however, DCH and its volunteers are committed to adhering to social distancing and gathering limit requirements and will be requesting potential adopters do the same. Read more

Rehomed Dogs

The dogs listed below have now found permanent loving new homes.

grid | list 10 | 20 | 50 | 100
Barney

Barney

Pomeranian - male

Hi! I'm Bedroom eyes Barney. I'm crossed with another breed. I weigh 9kgs and height-wise I come up just below the knee.
I'm cute as a button and waiting to meet a family who has a lot of patience when it comes to grooming. I was found wandering along the streets when the Ranger picked me up and kept me safe until my Rescue group collected me. Due to having been neglected, I have a lot of matted fur. My carer bathed the underside of me and I just loved rolling on the grass afterwards as she tried to dry me. My hair is slowly growing back and will continue to do so with quality food and care. My Vet has advised that someone has tried to shave me but this is the wrong grooming technique for my kind of double-coat fur, therefore, this hair loss can take up to 2 years to grow back.
I am very affectionate and I love laying next to my human. If my human stops patting me, I gently coax her hand back to where it was... I get on well with other dogs and am good on walks. I don't really know crossing the street manners, however am keen to learn. I do not bark, lunge or react, I just toddle along sniffing and enjoying the walk.
I do however know how to sit, stay, shake hands and am very gentle when being hand-fed treats.
I'm not great in the car and can become anxious after about 20 minutes.
I have a systemic heart murmur which means I will be on heart tablets for life. I started on 1/2 x 2.5mg Cardisure twice daily since my Vet visit. The medication can cost between $50-$100 / month depending on the quality of medication.
If after considering the above, I still sound appealing to you, please arrange to send my carer a detailed e-mail advising I'm yours for life, not just in lockdown and that you will look after all of my needs, especially my magnificent coat and heart. I will be spayed on 22nd September and will be available about 2 weeks after that. ***I have been placed on hold due to a number of suitable applicants.***
Hope you enjoyed your read, Due to having a limited lifespan, Barney has been adopted by his foster mum.

Barney was adopted on 14 October 2021 after 1 month in foster care

Soozy

Soozy

maltese x mini poodle - female

Hi my name is Soozy and I'm a maltese cross mini poodle. I'm very gentle and affectionate. I am an indoor dog and would make a great companion for a couple, a person or maybe even a family.

I'm toilet trained. Take me for a walk at least twice a day and just say "wee wee" and I that i need to pee. I' suited to either a unit or a house.

I walk on the lead and am calm and obedient. As I previously lived with a single lady, I haven't had any experience with children, dogs or cats. My foster carer is helping me get used to other dogs.

Speaking of my foster carer, she says I'm adorable!

Soozy was adopted on 04 October 2021 after 2 months in foster care

Phoenix

Phoenix

English Springer Spaniel - male

Phoenix has arrived into foster care after having to be surrendered by his loving family of 9 years due to changes in circumstances brought about by this crazy year.

He is a 9 year old male English Springer Spaniel.

He is a friendly dog and loves lots of attention. He gets along perfectly with kids and does not bark much. He has grown up as an only dog in an outside environment and would come indoors on hold and cold days but is not toilet trained but does prefer to wait to use the grass when left indoors overnight so does seem to know what to do.

He is not a fan of other dogs regardless of their size so needs to be in a home with no other dogs and would need further socialisation and training to change his behaviour towards other dogs.

He is used to an exercise routine of 30-40 minutes of walks per day however he does not react well to seeing other dogs on his walks.

He gets fed once a day, one wet food sachet and two scoops of dry.

D.O.B.: 01/07/2012

Last Vaccination - 18/11/2020 - Due Nov 2021

Located in Waterloo, NSW and is currently being fostered as an indoors dog with lots of walks and exercise during the day.

Phoenix was adopted on 02 October 2021 after 3 weeks in foster care

Tyson

Tyson

Staffy - male

Hi my name is Tyson and I'm a 4 year old English Staffy who is looking for a new home because my sister and I weren't getting along. Don't hold that against me because everyone says I'm a great dog.

I'm great with children of all ages. I grew up with a family that has 3 young boys and I've lived with a family that has a 2 year old and a 3 year old and they adored me and I thought they were pretty good too.

I know basic commands and I'm house trained because I'm an indoor dog and love to sit with you on the couch. Being a Staffy, I love being with my family.

I'm a strong dog so I can pull on the lead and probably need a bit of training with that and also with my recall.

I'm a very loving and affectionate dog so I need someone who is going to love me back and give me plenty of exercise.

Tyson was adopted on 01 October 2021 after 2 weeks in foster care

Ace

Ace

American Staffy - male

Hi my name is Ace and I came to DCH after my family had to move houses and couldn't take me with them.

I'm now in foster care and live in a unit with my foster carer who I adore and who, I'm fairly sure, adores me too.

I love people, and dogs of all sizes. I absolutely love playing with my friends in the dog park. I'm very easy going and don't even mind when small dogs sit on my back. I'm a very happy dog. However, I do need my exercise and can be strong willed. I also like to sit on the bench in front of the coffee shop near where my foster carer lives and observe people while my foster carer enjoys a coffee. I'm a strong dog so additional training on how to walk on the lead would probably help. I like to be inside with my family.

I would suit dog owners who have had medium or large dogs before and who live an active lifestyle and would give me the exercise I need. I am not suitable for a family with very young children.

Ace was adopted on 01 October 2021 after 4 weeks in foster care

Ricky and Penny

Ricky and Penny

Ricky: Cattle x Penny: Kelpie - mixed

Ricky (Cattle x) and Penny (Kelpie x Dachshund) came into care after their elderly owner had to move and could no longer keep them. They grew up on 5 acres and have been gradually adjusting to city life. After thinking they'd be OK rehomed separately, we realise they're a bonded - and quirky! - pair, and are best rehomed together.

Penny's a sweet, smart, quiet girl who's happy to hang out with you inside, or catch some sun by herself in the yard. She can be shy at first, but warms to you once she knows you, and reveals her playful streak.

Ricky's a sweet, clever boy, learns fast and is eager to please. He loves being with you, and will follow you round the house and sit at your feet when you're on the couch. Ricky is nervous meeting new people, but is very affectionate once he knows you, and loves a game of fetch or tug-of-war. They both love a morning play with each other.

Both dogs are strong on lead walks and would benefit from further lead training. They know basic commands like: 'sit', 'come', 'wait', 'on your
bed'.

OK around other dogs? Yes, controlled greetings have gone well

House trained? Yes

Exercise routine: 2 walks a day

Living arrangements: mostly inside, with regular access to outside. They're used to someone being home most of the day.

OK with kids? Would suggest older kids

OK with other animals? They react to cats on street walks but seem fine with birds that visit the yard.

Food Routine: A mix of dry food and tinned salmon for breakfast. Dry food and raw meat or wet food for dinner.

Ricky and Penny was adopted on 24 September 2021 after 4 months in foster care

Bella

Bella

Staffy - female

This beautiful staffy, was adopted by a couple from the pound. They named her Chook but soon realised that they didn't have enough time in their busy schedules to give Chook the attention she deserved. Consequently, she was surrendered to DCH Animal Adoptions.

Her foster carer soon discovered that this little darling didn't respond to the name Chook and tried different names until they found that she responded to Bella.

Bella's age is somewhere between 6-12 months. She loves playing ball and her all time favourite thing is to sit beside you on the couch. She is definitely an inside dog but also likes to spend time outside sunning herself.

She hasn't yet been to the dog park with her foster carer so we aren't sure how she is with other dogs or whether or not she is cat friendly. She doesn't currently live with children.

Bella knows basic commands but would benefit from some leash training as she is a strong dog.

Bella was adopted on 19 September 2021 after 2 weeks in foster care

Lebron

Lebron

Labrador x staffy - male

If you are looking for a well behaved, obedient and toilet trained dog, then Lebron is the dog for you
Lebron came into care after being found as a stray. He was extremely thin with badly infected ears however he had the most trusting and loving temperament despite his condition
He sits and shakes hands as well as rolling over for lots of belly scratches. He has now had treatment for his ears as well as being desexed so he is now ready for his new home
If you are looking for a great dog then Lebron is a great choice

Lebron was adopted on 18 September 2021 after 2 months in foster care

Meg

Meg

Staffy X French bulldog - female

Meg is a very friendly dog who would suit an active family with teenage children. She is house trained and is quite happy to stay inside and sit on your lap. She must be allowed both inside and outside however she would not be suitable in a house with cats. She loves walks and is quite obedient. Meg needs access to a backyard and is not suitable for a unit or an apartment.

Meg was adopted on 24 August 2021 after 3 months in foster care

Bandit

Bandit

Mix - male

LITTLE BANDIT HAS FOUND HIS FUREVER HOME. Thank you to everyone who enquired about adopting him and to all those who have contributed to his vet fees.

Bandit is a lovable little rogue, who will hold you up for your attention and steal away with your heart.

He is a wonderful little fellow, who finding himself all alone in the world, found other stray doggies and made them his family. Now, he has a warm home and has very quickly made his foster a family, his new 'pack' follows them around EVERYWHERE.

He learnt his new name in the first day and has fantastic recall. Bandit will make a great addition to most families, as he is house trained, is great with other dogs (even huge ones), children of all ages and anyone who looks like they might give him a treat.

Now, Bandit needs your help! His adventures before foster care have left him with a number of broken teeth, that need desperate veterinary attention. Dental procedures are a huge cost to DCH, so Bandit is asking anyone who can spare even the smallest donations, for his essential dental care, to help this little 'thief of hearts'.

Bandit was adopted on 01 August 2021 after 1 month in foster care